Nobel Peace Prize Laureates

Baroness Bertha Felicie Sophie von Suttner (9 June 1843 – 21 June 1914), born Countess Kinsky in Prague, was the posthumous daughter of a field marshal. In 1891, she was responsible for the creation of the Permanent International Peace Bureau in Bern. In 1892 she promised to keep Alfred Nobel informed on the progress of the peace movement and, if possible, to convince him of its effectiveness. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1905.

See graphic “Nobel laureates and Disarmament” published by UN Office of Disarmament Affairs for additional information and a broader overview.


1901 Frédéric PASSY, France (IPB Council Member)
1902 Elie DUCOMMUN, Switzerland (first IPB Secretary-General)
1902 Albert GOBAT, Switzerland (second IPB Secretary-General)
1905 Bertha VON SUTTNER, Austria (IPB Vice-President)
1907 Ernesto MONETA, Italy (IPB Council Member)
1908 Fredrik BAJER, Denmark (first IPB President)
1910 The International Peace Bureau itself won the Nobel Peace Prize
1911 Alfred FRIED, Austria (IPB Council Member)
1913 Henri LA FONTAINE, Belgium (IPB President)
1927 Ludwig QUIDDE, Germany (IPB Council Member)
1959 Philip NOEL-BAKER, United Kingdom (IPB Vice-President)
1962 Linus PAULING, United States (IPB Vice-President)
1974 Sean MAC BRIDE, Ireland (IPB Chairman and President)
1982 Alva MYRDAL, Sweden (IPB Vice-President)