No Nukes, No Wars, No Walls, No Warming: One Struggle, Many Fronts—Linking Cause And Effect

Sunday – Jun 18, 2017 @ 1:00 pm – 6:00 pm –

Join One Struggle, Many Fronts forum on June 18th to stand united against nuclear arms, the arms race & the use of nuclear weapons. The tide is shifting: we stand with the Women’s March to Ban the Bomb which takes place on June 17th and the UN conference negotiating a treaty to ban nuclear weapons (June 15th to July 7th) to say: no to war, no to nukes, no to warming, and no to walls.

This conference will highlight the impact of nuclear arms on the diverse communities most directly impacted by their development, testing and use. There will be opportunities for networking and conversation!

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Sunday - Jun 18, 2017
1:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Brooklyn Friends Meeting

Categories No Categories

1. Survivors Resist: Humanitarian Consequences
Moderator:  Sally Jones (Peace Action Fund NYS)
Speakers: Hidankyo (Japan Confederation of A & H Bomb Sufferers’), Iram Ali (MoveOn), Kathy Sanchez – TEWA Women United, Indigenous elder (awaiting confirmation)

2. Nuclear Arms: Causes, Effects and Movements Against
Moderator: Jackie Cabasso (Western States Legal Foundation)
Speakers: Vincent Intondi (Author of African-Americans Against the Bomb), Any Lichterman (Western States Legal Foundation), Sharon Dolev (Israeli Disarmament Movement)

3. Organizing for Nuclear Disarmament: Youth in the Lead
Moderator: Jim Anderson (Peace Action New York State, Citizen Action)
Speakers: Marzhan Nurzhan (Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, Kazakhstan), Kate Alexander (Peace Action New York State), Marzhan Nurzhan – Kazakhstan. PNND Coordinator for CIS countries, Abolition 2000 Youth Working Group, Takae Hironaka (Hiroshima Democratic Youth League and 3rd generation Hibakusha), Amplify youth organizer (to be confirmed)

4. Ban Treaty and Beyond
Moderator: Joseph Gerson (American Friends Service Committee)
Speakers: Hiroshi Takai (Gensuikyo), John Burroughs (Lawyers Committee on Nuclear Policy), Alyn Ware (Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and DIsarmament)