Marking 50 Years of First UN Committee on Disarmament: Honoring Legacy & Awarding Seán MacBride Peace Prize for Meaningful Disarmament for Common Security

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Thursday - Jun 20, 2024
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm


Join us to honor the legacy of disarmament efforts and celebrate the achievements in meaningful disarmament for common security.

Thursday, 20 June 2024 | 13.30-14.30 EDT 

Rosa Luxemburg New York Office, 275 Madison Ave #2114, New York, NY 10016, United States and Zoom



A Conversation on the Current State of Disarmament and Civil Society, Visions, and Aspirations

Welcome Remarks: Mariana Fernandez, Project Manager, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung – New York


  • Alfredo Lubang, Seán MacBride Awardee and Disarmament Champion
  • Binalakshmi Nepram, International Peace Burea (IPB) Board Member and Founder, Global Alliance of Indigenous Peoples, Gender Justice and Peace
  • Gene Gesite Jr, Youth Vision Moderator

Awarding of the Seán MacBride Peace Prize

  • Message and about the reward from the International Peace Bureau
  • Congratulatory message: Tak Mashiko, Programme Officer, UN Office for Disarmament Affairs
  • Congratulatory message and Awarding: Binalakshmi Nepram
  • Acceptance speech: Alfredo Lubang, 2022 Seán MacBride Peace Prize Awardee
  • Closing remarks: Binalakshmi Nepram

Click on the button to load the content from

Load content

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab