Counteractions to NATO’s 70th Anniversary – Washington

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Saturday - Mar 30, 2019 - Thursday - Apr 4, 2019
All Day

Categories No Categories

NATO foreign ministers will meet in Washington DC (USA) to mark the 70th anniversary of the alliance. As counteractions,  the network “No to War – No to NATO” will organise a series of parallel events in the city, starting on March 30. The final day of events, April 4, also marks 51 years since Martin Luther King, Jr. – who struggled against racism, poverty and war – was assassinated.

“Why? NATO is the largest military alliance in the world with the largest military spending and nuclear stockpiles. While claiming to “preserve peace,” NATO has violated international law and bombed Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Serbia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Libya. NATO has exacerbated tensions with Russia and increased the risk of nuclear apocalypse.”

  •  March 30, 1pm, Lafayette Park: March “A Call for a Mass Mobilization to Appose NATO, War and Racism”

Facebook event | More information

  •  April 2, 9am-6pm, St. Stephen & the Incarnation Episcopal Church (1525 Newton street): “Peace and Disarmament Counter Summit”

Facebook event | More information

  •  April 3, 12-10pm: St. Stephen & the Incarnation Episcopal Church (1525 Newton street): “No to NATO, Yes to Peace Festival”

Facebook event | More information

  • April 4: Rally with speakers and music & Nonviolent demonstrations

From NO to NATOs website:

“We will gather at 7:30 a.m. at the Albert Einstein Memorial (2101 Constitution Ave NW) very near where the NATO foreign ministers will be meeting. At 8:00 a.m. we’ll hear from our speakers and musicians outside the State Department, protest NATO, and greet meeting attendees. Speakers and musicians will include: Ben Grosscup, Luci Murphy, Megaciph, Art Laffin, Ludo De Brabander, Kristine Karch, Phil Wilayto, Medea Benjamin, Ann Wright, Eric Colville.

At 9:30, we’ll walk 15 minutes to the MLK Memorial for a rally there at 10 a.m. with speakers and musicians including: Graylan Hagler, Luci Murphy, Eric Colville, Art Laffin, Jaribu Hill, Omali Yeshitela, Karlene Griffiths Sekou, Kevin Zeese, Ben Grosscup. (Full list of speakers and musicians)”