Seán Mac Bride Prize – Barcelona

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Tuesday - Dec 18, 2018
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Categories No Categories

On Tuesday, the 18th of December 2018, IPB and will award the second Seán MacBride Peace Prize of 2018 to Helena Maleno in Barcelona. The ceremony will be held from 18.30 onwards in the halls of the Historical Museum (Address: Museu d’Història de Barcelona, Plaça del rei s/n)

If you wish to attend the prize ceremony please sign up via this form

Helena Maleno is a human rights defender and an activist for migrants’ rights, as well as a Journalist and researcher, based in Tangier (Morocco). In 2002, Maleno founded the association “Caminando Fronteras” (Walking along borders), which is one of the main organizations at the southern European border devoted to denounce human rights violations. Caminando Fronteras provides support to sub-Saharan communities during the migration process. Maleno is widely known, also, for her public task alerting maritime authorities to the plight of vulnerable migrants in the Mediterranean. Unfortunately, the Moroccan authorities, following a report from the Spanish police over allegations that Maleno had been collaborating with people traffickers, are prosecuting Helena Maleno. In addition, different groups in Morocco have harassed the activist for criticizing the government and especially state abuses against migrants and women. Consequently, her own life was in danger. As a Peace organization, we admire Helena Maleno’s efforts to save hundreds of lives in the Mediterranean Sea, and her strong commitment to defending human rights.



18:30 Welcome

by Laura Pérez Castaño Regidor of International Relations of the City Council of Barcelona

18:45 Presentation of the Prize Recipient Helena Maleno 

by Jordi Calvo – Vice President of the International Peace Bureau

David Llistar- Director of Global Justice and International Cooperation of in the City Council of Barcelona

Manel Vila – General Director of Development Cooperation

19:00 Presentation of the Prize

by Lisa Clark – Co-President of the International Peace Bureau

awarding by Lisa Clark and Laura Pérez Castaño

19:10 Laudation

by David Fernàndez – Humorist

19:25 Speech of the recipient

by Helena Maleno

19:55 Closing remarks

by Lisa Clark